The Coral return to Liverpool with headline UK Tour

The Coral will return to Merseyside for two dates this summer and tickets are on sale this week.


Having recently supported Manic Street Preachers on their Arena tour, The Coral announce a UK headline tour in October following the release of their new album ‘Move Through The Dawn’. The influential Hoylake band’s first headline tour for two years will start in Newcastle and take in London’s Koko before culminating at Manchester Albert Hall on October 13th. Returning to Liverpool on 12th October, The University of Liverpool’s Mountford Hall will play host, before the band plays a very special festival on the Wirral.

Supporting on all dates comes from She Drew The Gun, the acclaimed Liverpool quartet signed to Coral frontman James Skelly’s Skeleton Key label. ‘Move Through The Dawn’ will be released on 17th August 2018 on Ignition Records on CD, LP and digitally, and is available to pre-order.

The Coral will also be appearing at festivals throughout the summer, and will be celebrating the release of ‘Move Through The Dawn’ by hosting the Skeleton Coast Festival at Leasowe Castle, Wirral, on Saturday September 1st. Joining The Coral, who headline, will be Tim Burgess, Fuzzy Sun – the first signing to Blossoms new label Very Clever – plus Skeleton Key Records artists including The Fernweh, Marvin Powell and Cut Glass Kings.

The first single to be taken from ‘Move Through The Dawn’ is the BBC 6Music playlisted single ‘Sweet Release’ – available now to stream, download and as instant grat with album pre-orders. Featuring a synchronized routine by a boiler-suited, paper bag hat-wearing dance troupe, the video for ‘Sweet Release’ continues The Coral’s tradition for visually exciting and wryly amusing promos.

‘Move Through The Dawn’ was recorded at Parr Street Studios in Liverpool and produced by The Coral and Rich Turvey.  The album is the follow-up to 2016’s critically acclaimed ‘Distance Inbetween’, which featured singles ‘Miss Fortune’, Holy Revelation’ and ‘Million Eyes’.

Nick Power, The Coral’s keyboardist, has written a new book, ‘Into The Void’, which will be published by Ebacc concurrently with the new album. Powers’ third book, ‘Into The Void’ is an insightful, amusing and evocative first hand account of the recording, release and touring of ‘Distance Inbetween’, which came after a five-year hiatus for the band.

Since their debut EP release in 2001 The Coral have sold over a million UK albums, with five reaching the Top 10 including 2003’s chart-topping ‘Magic and Medicine’. Their eight Top 40 singles include ‘Dreaming Of You’, ‘In The Morning’, ‘Pass It On’, and ‘Don’t Think You’re The First’.

Tickets on general sale 9am May 18th, with a fan pre-sale from 9am May 16th – see for further details.

What’s your favourite Coral track? Let’s get a playlist going, send your suggestions to us on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram and we’ll share the best on our socials.

Leave a Comment